The Pine Grove Cemetery is located in the heart of Mt. Airy, MD in Carroll County. It was first built 1846 and called Ridge Presbyterian Church. The cemetery is relatively small in size and the property is adorned with a small stone chapel. A small sign erected in front of the cemetery states that the site is home to the first Mt. Airy school erected in 1869 which is also the year the church was renovated. The classes for the school were held in the basement for 20 years however schooling was stopped during the Civil War. During the Civil War there were plenty of southern sympathizers located in Mt. Airy. The Baltimore & Ohio Railroad was guarded by Co. K 14th New Jersey Infantry to stop supplies from being sent to the South. The chapel served as a barrack and sleeping quarters for the Union soldiers. A sick and delirious soldier was the first on to be given a christian burial.
Mt. Airy is a charming city with an award winning downtown district filled with shops and restaurants. It is definitely worth a trip so check it out. Thanks Town of Mt. Airy website for some of the historical data regarding the Chapel.